

MEETING NO: # Conservation Halton Board of Directors Inaugural Meeting 03 21

MINUTES

The Conservation Halton Board of Directors Inaugural Meeting was held on Thursday, March 25 at 3:25 p.m. Via Zoom Webinar

Members Present: Hamza Ansari

Rob Burton Mike Cluett Joanne Di Maio Cathy Duddeck Allan Elgar Steve Gilmour Dave Gittings Zeeshan Hamid Moya Johnson Gordon Krantz Bryan Lewis

Marianne Meed Ward

Rory Nisan

Gerry Smallegange Jim Sweetlove Jean Williams

Absent: Rick Di Lorenzo

Zobia Jawed

Staff present Kim Barrett, Associate Director, Science & Partnerships

Hassaan Basit, President & CEO

Garner Beckett, Director, CH Foundation

Niamh Buckley, Administrative Assistant, Office of the President & CEO

Craig Machan, Associate Director, Park Operations

Kellie McCormack, Associate Director, Planning & Regulations

Marnie Piggot, Director, Finance

Plezzie Ramirez, Director, Human Resources Jill Ramseyer, Director, Corporate Compliance

Barb Veale, Director, Planning & Watershed Management

Mark Vytvytskyy, COO

Chair Gerry Smallegange called the meeting to order at 3:25 p.m.

1. Acceptance of Agenda as distributed





CHBD 03 01 Moved by: Jean Williams

Seconded by: Gordon Krantz

THAT the Conservation Halton Board of Directors accepts the agenda as distributed.

Carried

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest for Board of Directors

There were **NONE**.

- 3. Consent Items
- 3.1. Roll Call Induction of Board Members for 2021

Date of Term to expire in February 2022 as per the Conservation Authorities Act.

- (4.1) A member shall be appointed for a term of up to four years, as may be determined by the council that appoints the member. 2017, c. 23, Sched. 4, s. 12 (2).0 or until a successor is appointed.
- 3.2 Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committees Membership 2021 (CHBD 03 21 01)

The consent items were adopted.

4. Action Items

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton-Hamilton Region Source Protection Authority.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer assumed the role of the Chair.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer advised that the Elections would be conducted in accordance with Section 10 of the Conservation Authorities Act.

Only current members of the Authority may vote.

4.1.1 The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to appoint Election Scrutineers to count the ballots for the election of Chair and Vice Chair.

CHBD 03 02 Moved by: Jean Williams

Seconded by: Mike Cluett

THAT Plezzie Ramirez and Marnie Piggot be appointed as scrutineers in the event of an election and that all ballots be destroyed by the scrutineers afterwards.



4.1.2. The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chair Of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

It was Moved by Gordon Krantz that Gerry Smallegange be nominated for the position of Chair to Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

CHBD 03 03 Moved by: Allan Elgar

Seconded by: Moya Johnson

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

Carried

Gerry Smallegange confirmed he would allow his name to stand and thanked all present.

The CEO declared Gerry Smallegange, by acclamation, to the position of Chair, Conservation Halton Board of Directors 2021.

4.1.3 The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

It was Moved by Cathy Duddeck that Moya Johnson be nominated for the position of Vice Chair for Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.

CHBD 03 04 Moved by: Dave Gittings

Seconded by: Bryan Lewis

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2021.



March 2021

Carried

Moya Johnson confirmed she would allow her name to stand and thanked all present.

The CEO declared Moya Johnson by acclamation, to the position of Vice Chair, Conservation Halton Board of Directors 2021.

Chair Gerry Smallegange assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

5. Other Business

There was **NO** other business.

6. Adjournment

CHDB 03 05 Moved by: Cathy Duddeck

THAT the Inaugural meeting of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors **be adjourned at 3:29 p.m.**

Carried

Signed by: Hassaan Basit, President & CEO

Date: April 22, 2021