



MEETING NO: # 03 19

MINUTES

The Inaugural Meeting of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors was held on Thursday, February 28, 2019 beginning at 5:00 p.m. at Conservation Halton's Administration Office, Burlington.

Members Present:	Hamza Ansari Rob Burton Mike Cluett Rick Di Lorenzo Joanne Di Maio Cathy Duddeck Allan Elgar Stephen Gilmour Dave Gittings Moya Johnson Gordon Krantz Bryan Lewis Rory Nisan Gerry Smallegange Jim Sweetlove Ed Wells Marianne Meed Ward Jean Williams	
Guests:	John Vice	
Absent with regrets	Zeeshan Hamid	
Staff present:	Hassaan Basit, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer Adriana Birza, Executive Assistant Niamh Buckley, Administrative Assistant Gene Matthews, Director, Parks & Recreation Kellie McCormack, Senior Manager, Development Planning & Watershed Management Marnie Piggott, Director, Finance Plezzie Ramirez, Manager, People Culture & Creative Jill Ramseyer, Associate Director, People, Culture & Creative Janelle Weppler, Associate Director, Engineering Barb Veale, Director, Planning & Watershed	





Chair Gerry Smallegange called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

1. Acceptance of Agenda as distributed.

CHBD 03 01 Moved by: Moya Johnson Seconded by: Marianne Meed Ward

THAT the Conservation Halton Board of Directors accept the Agenda as distributed.

Carried

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

There was no disclosure of pecuniary interest

3. Roll Call & Mileage: 2019 Appointments to Conservation Halton Board of Directors

Date of Term to expire in February 2022 as per the Conservation Authorities Act.

(4.1) A member shall be appointed for a term of up to four years, as may be determined by the council that appoints the member. 2017, c. 23, Sched. 4, s. 12 (2). 0 or until a successor is appointed.

4. Action Items

4.1 Election of Officers for 2019

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton-Hamilton Region Source Protection Authority.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer assumed the Chair.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer advised that the Elections would be conducted in accordance with Section 10 of the *Conservation Authorities Act*.

Only current members of the Authority may vote.

4.1.1 The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to appoint Election Scrutineers to count the ballots for the election of Chair and Vice Chair.

CHBD 03 02	Moved by: Rob Burton	
	Seconded by: Jean Williams	

THAT Jill Ramseyer, Associate Director People, Culture and Creative and Gene Matthews, Director, Parks & Recreation be appointed as scrutineers in the event of an election and that all ballots be destroyed by the scrutineers afterwards.

Carried





4.1.2 The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2019.

It was Moved by Cathy Duddeck that Gerry Smallegange be nominated for the position of Chair for 2019.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time. There were no nominations. The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no nominations.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2019.

CHBD 03 03

Moved by: Rob Burton Seconded by: Jean Williams

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

Carried

Gerry Smallegange confirmed he would allow his name to stand and thanked all present.

The CAO declared Gerry Smallegange, by acclamation, to the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2019.

4.1.3 The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2019.

It was Moved by Cathy Duddeck that Moya Johnson be nominated for the position of Vice Chair for 2019.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time. There were no nominations. The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no nominations.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2019.

CHBD 03 04Moved by:Gord KrantzSeconded by:Jean Williams

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018

Carried

Moya Johnson confirmed she would allow her name to stand and thanked all present.





The CAO declared Moya Johnson, by acclamation, to the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2019.

The Chair Gerry Smallegange assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

4.2 Approval of the Borrowing By-law Resolution

CHBD 03 05	Moved by:	Bryan Lewis
	Seconded by:	Mike Cluett

Be it resolved that the Conservation Halton Signing Officers are hereby authorized on behalf of Conservation Halton to borrow from time to time, from the banking institution under agreement with Conservation Halton, up to \$2,000,000 with interest as may be determined by agreement between the bank and Conservation Halton to meet current expenditures, until Provincial grants and Municipal funding are received.

(A copy of the Section 3 of The Halton Region Conservation Authority By-law No. 2018-01 is available on line).

Carried

- 5. Other Business
- 6. Adjournment
- CHBD 03 06

Moved by: Marianne Meed Ward

THAT the Conservation Halton Inaugural meeting be **adjourned at 6:00 p.m.**

Carried

Hassaan Basit, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer

Date:

Signed:

March 21, 2019