

# **Conservation Halton Board Inaugural Meeting Minutes**

Conservation Halton February 15, 2024, at 1:00 PM EST @ 2596 Britannia Road, Burlington, ON L7P 0G3

1. Roll Call

Members Present	Sameera Ali Sara Bailey Rob Burton Allan Elgar Jane Fogal Chantal Garneau Dave Gittings Sammy Ijaz Gordon Krantz Marianne Meed Ward Rory Nisan Gerry Smallegange (Chair) Shawna Stolte Alvin Tedjo
Absent	Cameron Kroetsch Sue McFadden Alex Wilson Maureen Wilson
Absent with Regrets	Cathy Duddeck (Vice Chair) Kristina Tesser Derksen
Staff Present	Hassaan Basit, President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer Garner Beckett, Executive Director, Conservation Halton Foundation Adriana Birza, Senior Advisor, Office of the President & CEO Craig Machan, Director, Parks & Operations Kellie McCormack, Director, Planning & Regulations Marnie Piggot, Director, Finance Plezzie Ramirez, Director, Human Resources Barb Veale, Senior Director, Watershed Management & Climate Change Mark Vytvytskyy, Chief Operating Officer Shelly Datseris, Manager, Communications & Marketing Justin Wei, Senior Manager, Finance Robyn Koutrouliotis, Admin. Assistant, Office of the President & CEO

The Chair called the meeting to order at 2:58 p.m.

# 2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.



## 3. Acceptance of Agenda

CH 02 01

Moved by: Rob Burton Seconded by: Allan Elgar

THAT the Conservation Halton Inaugural Board Meeting Agenda **be accepted as distributed**.

Carried

## 4. Consent Items

4.1. Induction of Members for 2024

Date of Term to expire in February 2027 as-per the Conservation Authorities Act.

(4.1) A member shall be appointed for a term of up to four years, as may be determined by the council that appoints the member or, in the case of a member appointed under subsection (4), by the Minister. 2017, c. 23, Sched. 4, s. 12 (2); 2020, c. 36, Sched. 6, s. 2 (6).

4.2. Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committee Membership 2024 (CHB 02 24 01)

The consent items were adopted.

#### 5. Election of Officers

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton Region Source Protection Authority.

The Conservation Halton President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer assumed the role of the Chair.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer advised that the Elections would be conducted in accordance with Section 10 of the *Conservation Authorities Act.* 

Only current members of the Authority may vote.

5.1. Appointment of Scrutineers 2024

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to **appoint Election Scrutineers to count the ballots for the election of Chair and Vice Chair.** 

CH 02 02 Moved by: Rob Burton Seconded by: Allan Elgar

THAT Adriana Birza and Robyn Koutrouliotis **appointed as scrutineers in the event of an election and that all ballots be destroyed by the scrutineers afterward.** 

#### Carried

### 5.2. Election of Chair 2024

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Conservation Halton Board for the year 2024.

It was Moved by Rory Nisan that Gerry Smallegange be nominated for the position of Chair to the Conservation Halton Board for 2024.



The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations a second time. There were no nominations.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations a third time. There were no nominations.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Chair of the Conservation Halton Board for 2024.

CH 02 03 Moved by: Rob Burton Seconded by: Rory Nisan

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Chair of the Conservation Halton Board for 2024.

#### Carried

Gerry Smallegange confirmed he would allow his name to stand and thanked all present.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer Declared Gerry Smallegange, by acclamation, to the position of Chair, Conservation Halton Board 2024.

5.3. Election of Vice Chair 2024

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board for the year 2024.

It was Moved by Marianne Meed Ward that Cathy Duddeck be nominated for the position of Vice Chair to the Conservation Halton Board for 2024.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations a second time. There were no nominations.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations a third time. There were no nominations.

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board for 2024.

CH 02 04

Moved by: Gordon Krantz Seconded by: Rob Burton

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board for 2024.

#### Carried

Ms. Cathy Duddeck advised the President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer in writing, in advance of the election, of her willingness to accept the nomination as-per the Procedure for Election of Officers in the Halton Region Conservation Authority General Membership By-law (No. 2018-01).

The President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer Declared Cathy Duddeck, by acclamation, to the position of Vice Chair, Conservation Halton Board 2024.



### 6. Other Business

CH 02 05 Moved by: Sammy Ijaz Seconded by: Shawna Stolte

THAT the Conservation Halton Board move In Camera.

Carried

6.1. In Camera Verbal Update

CH 02 06 Moved by: Rob Burton Seconded by: Chantal Garneau

THAT the Conservation Halton Board reconvene in public forum.

Carried

## 7. Adjournment

#### CH 02 07

Moved by: Rob Burton

THAT the Inaugural meeting of the Conservation Halton Board **be adjourned at 4:45 p.m**.

Carried

Hreileen -

Signed by: Date: Hassaan Basit, President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer April 18, 2024