

Conservation Halton Board Inaugural Meeting Agenda Conservation Halton 2596 Britannia Road West, Burlington, ON February 15, 2024, 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM EST

## **Table of Contents**

1. Roll Call
2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest
3. Acceptance of Agenda
4. Consent Items
4.1. Induction of Members for 2024
4.2. Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committee Membership 2024 (CHB 02 24
01)
5. Election of Officers
5.1. Appointment of Scrutineers 2024
5.2. Election of Chair 2024
5.3. Election of Vice Chair 2024
6. Other Business
6.1. In Camera Verbal Update
7. Adjournment





#### **Conservation Halton Board Inductees for 2024**

### Term to expire December 31, 2026, or until a successor is appointed.

City of Burlington: Mayor Marianne Meed Ward

Councillor Rory Nisan Councillor Shawna Stolte

Gerry Smallegange (Citizen Appointee)

Town of Halton Hills: Councillor Jane Fogal

Councillor Chantal Garneau

Town of Milton: Mayor Gordon Krantz

Councillor Sameera Ali Councillor Sammy Ijaz

Councillor Kristina Tesser Derksen

Town of Oakville: Mayor Rob Burton

Councillor Cathy Duddeck Councillor Allan Elgar Councillor Dave Gittings

City of Mississauga: Councillor Sue McFadden

Councillor Alvin Tedjo

City of Hamilton: Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Councillor Alex Wilson Councillor Maureen Wilson

Township of Puslinch: Councillor Sara Bailey





TO: Conservation Halton Board

**MEMO:** # CHB 02 24 01

**FROM:** Adriana Birza, Senior Advisor, Office of the President & CEO

**DATE:** February 15, 2024

SUBJECT: Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committee Membership 2024

### **MEMO**

The Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committee membership was approved at the Inaugural Board meeting on February 16, 2023.

Election of Officers to the Conservation Halton (CH) Committees takes place every four (4) years to align with the Municipal Election and Appointment of Membership to the CH Board as-per the Halton Region Conservation Authority General Membership By-law No. 2018-01 (Revised April 20, 2023). The end of the 2023-2026 Committee term will be December 31, 2026, or until a successor is appointed.

As a reminder to the members of the CH Board, there are three (3) Advisory Committees:

#### **Conservation Halton Governance & Risk Committee**

The purpose of the Governance & Risk Committee is to advise the CH Board on the appropriate policies and by-laws in the areas of Board governance. The Committee ensures that management has in place policies, procedures, and processes to manage risks to which CH is exposed, including compliance with applicable laws and regulations.

#### Committee Members

Councillor Rory Nisan (Chair)
Councillor Kristina Tesser Derksen (Vice Chair)
Councillor Cathy Duddeck
Councillor Jane Fogal
Mayor Gordon Krantz
Councillor Shawna Stolte

#### **Compensation Committee**

The purpose of the Compensation Committee is to advise the CH Board on recommendations on the compensation for the President & CEO on an annual basis following a successful performance appraisal by the Chair.

February 2024



#### **Committee Members**

Gerry Smallegange (Chair) Councillor Cathy Duddeck (Vice Chair) Councillor Allan Elgar Mayor Marianne Meed Ward

#### **Conservation Halton Finance & Audit Committee**

The purpose of the Finance & Audit Committee is to advise the CH Board on the appropriate policies in the areas of finance and financial management.

#### **Committee Members**

Mayor Rob Burton (Chair) Councillor Sameera Ali (Vice Chair) Councillor Cathy Duddeck Councillor Alvin Tedjo Councillor Chantal Garneau



# CONSERVATION HALTON PROCEDURE FOR ELECTION OF OFFICERS

# Conservation Halton Board Halton Region Source Protection Authority Board

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton Region Source Protection Authority.

#### **Chairman for Election of Officers**

An individual (President & CEO, Hassaan Basit) other than a Member of Conservation Halton will assume the position of Chair for the purpose of Election of Officers. A staff member could hold this position.

#### **Appointment of Scrutineers**

The appointment of scrutineers is required for the purpose of counting ballots should an election be required. All ballots will be destroyed by the scrutineers after the election. The appointment of scrutineers requires a mover and seconder by Members of the Authority.

#### **Election of Officers**

Only current Members of the Authority may vote.

Nominations will be called three (3) times and will only require a <u>mover</u>. The closing of nominations will require both a mover and a seconder.

In the event of an election, each nominee will be permitted not more than five (5) minutes to speak for the office, in the order of the alphabetical listing of his or her surname.

Upon acceptance by all nominees for the position of office, ballots will be distributed to the Members for the purpose of election. A Member's choice for a nominee will be written on the ballot and the appointed scrutineers for the counting of the ballots will collect the ballots.

A majority vote will be required for election. If there are more than two (2) nominees, and upon the first vote no nominee receives the majority required for election, the name of the person with the least number of votes will be removed from further consideration for the office and new ballots will be distributed. In the case of a vote where no nominee receives the majority required for election and where two (2) or more nominees are tied with the least number of votes, a special vote shall be taken to decide which one of such tied nominees' names shall be dropped from the list of names to be voted on in the next vote.

Should there be a tie vote between two (2) remaining candidates, new ballots will be distributed, and a second vote held. Should there still be a tie after the second ballot, a third vote shall be held. Should

February 2024



there be a tie after the third vote, the election of the office shall be decided by lot drawn by the President & CEO.