

# Conservation Halton Board of Directors - Inaugural Meeting - 03 21 Zoom Webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88964919440?pwd=TmovWWdmNmpGYWVpMzJEOHN3U0JKQT09 Passcode: 948334



Start: Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 4:00pm

End: Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 5:00pm

- 1. Acceptance of Agenda
- 2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest for Conservation Halton Board of Directors
- 3. Consent Items
  - 3.1. Roll Call Induction of Board Members for 2021



Inductees for 2021.pdf

3.2. Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committees Membership 2021 (CHBD 03 21 01)



Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committees Membership 2021 (CHBD 03 21 01

- 4. Action Items
  - 4.1. Election of Officers for 2021



Election Procedure 2021.pdf

- 4.1.1. Appointment of Scrutineers
- 4.1.2. Election for The Chair Conservation Halton Board of Directors 2021
- 4.1.3. Election for The Vice Chair Conservation Halton Board of Directors 2021
- 5. Other Business
- 6. Adjournment

# **Conservation Halton Board of Directors Inductees for 2021**

# Term to expire Dec. 31, 2022 or until a successor is appointed

City of Burlington:	Mr. James Sweetlove (Citizen Appointee) Mr. Gerry Smallegange (Citizen Appointee) Councillor Rory Nisan Mayor Marianne Meed Ward
Town of Halton Hills:	Councillor Moya Johnson Councillor Bryan Lewis
Town of Milton:	Mayor Gord Krantz Councillor Mike Cluett Councillor Rick Di Lorenzo Councillor Zeeshan Hamid
Town of Oakville:	Mayor Rob Burton Councillor Cathy Duddeck Councillor Allan Elgar Councillor Dave Gittings
City of Mississauga:	Ms. Jean Williams (Citizen Appointee) Mr. Aruangzaib Ansari (Citizen Appointee)
City of Hamilton:	Ms. Joanne Di Maio (Citizen Appointee) Dr. Zobia Jawed (Citizen Appointee)
Township of Puslinch:	Mr. Stephen Gilmour (Citizen Appointee)





то:	Conservation Halton Board of Directors
MEMO NO.: #	CHBD 03 21 01
FROM:	Adriana Birza, Manager, Office of the President & CEO
DATE:	March 25, 2021
SUBJECT:	Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committees Membership 2021

# MEMO

The Conservation Halton Board of Directors Advisory Committees membership was approved in 2019 at the first meeting of each of the committees.

Election of Officers to the CH Committees take place every 4 years to align with the Municipal Election and Appointment of Membership to the CH Board of Directors as per the CH By-law No. 2018-01 (Revised October 22, 2020). The end of the term for the 2019 Committees will be December 31, 2022, or until a successor is appointed.

As a reminder to the members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors there are 3 Advisory Committees:

# **Governance and Risk Committee**

The purpose of the Governance and Risk Committee is to advise the Conservation Halton Board of Directors on the appropriate policies and by-laws in the areas of governance of the Board. The committee will ensure that management has in place policies, procedures, and processes to manage risks to which Conservation Halton is exposed, including compliance with applicable laws and regulations.

# Members

Councillor Cathy Duddeck (Chair) Councillor Rick Di Lorenzo Mayor Gordon Krantz Councillor Bryan Lewis Councillor Rory Nisan (Vice-Chair) Jean Williams

# **CEO Compensation Committee**

The purpose of the CEO Compensation Committee is to advise the Conservation Halton Board of Directors on recommendations on the compensation for the CEO on an annual basis following a successful performance appraisal by the Chair.



March 2021

# Members

Councillor Allan Elgar Councillor Moya Johnson (Vice-Chair) Mayor Marianne Meed Ward Gerry Smallegange (Chair)

# Finance & Audit Committee

The purpose of the Finance and Audit Advisory Committee is to advise the Conservation Halton Board of Directors on the appropriate policies in the areas of finance and financial management.

# Members

Mayor Rob Burton (Chair) Councillor Mike Cluett Joanne Di Maio Councillor Moya Johnson Jim Sweetlove (Vice Chair) Gerry Smallegange

#### CONSERVATION HALTON PROCEDURE FOR ELECTION OF OFFICERS

#### Conservation Halton Board of Directors Halton Region Source Protection Authority Board of Directors

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton-Hamilton Region Source Protection Authority.

# **Chairman for Election of Officers**

An individual other than a Member of Conservation Halton will assume the position of Chair for the purpose of Election of Officers. A Staff member could hold this position.

# **Appointment of Scrutineers**

The appointment of scrutineers is required for the purpose of counting ballots should an election be required. All ballots will be destroyed by the scrutineers afterwards. The appointment of scrutineers requires a mover and seconder by Members of the Authority.

#### **Election of Officers**

Only current members of the Authority may vote.

Nominations will be called three (3) times and will only require a <u>mover</u>. The closing of nominations will require both a <u>mover</u> and a <u>seconder</u>.

In the event of an election, each nominee will be permitted not more than five (5) minutes to speak for the office, in the order of the alphabetical listing of his or her surnames.

Upon the acceptance by all nominees for the position of office, ballots will be distributed to the Members for the purpose of election. A Member's choice for a nominee will be written on the ballot and the appointed scrutineers for the counting of the ballots will collect the ballots.

A majority vote will be required for election. If there are more than two nominees, and upon the first vote no nominee receives the majority required for election, the name of the person with the least number of votes will be removed from further consideration for the office and new ballots will be distributed. In the case of a vote where no nominee receives the majority required for election and where two or more nominees are tied with the least number of votes, a special vote shall be taken to decide which one of such tied nominees' names shall be dropped from the list of names to be voted on in the next vote.

Should there be a tie vote between two remaining candidates, new ballots will be distributed and a second vote held. Should there still be a tie after the second ballot a third vote shall be held. Should there be a tie after the third vote, the election of the office shall be decided by lot drawn by the Chief Administration Officer.