



MEETING NO: # Conservation Halton Board of Directors Inaugural Meeting 02 22

MINUTES

The Conservation Halton Board of Directors Inaugural Meeting was held on Thursday, February 17 at 1:00 p.m. Via Zoom Webinar.

Members Present:	Mike Cluett Joanne Di Maio Cathy Duddeck Allan Elgar Dave Gittings Zeeshan Hamid Moya Johnson Gordon Krantz Bryan Lewis Marianne Meed Ward Rory Nisan Gerry Smallegange Jim Sweetlove Jean Williams
Absent with regrets:	Rob Burton
Absent:	Hamza Ansari Rick Di Lorenzo Steve Gilmour Zobia Jawed
Staff present	Kim Barrett, Associate Director, Science & Partnerships Hassaan Basit, President & CEO Garner Beckett, Executive Director, CH Foundation Adriana Birza, Manager, Office of the President & CEO Niamh Buckley, Administrative Assistant, Office of the President & CEO Shelly Datseris, Manager, Marketing & Communications Craig Machan, Director, Park Operations Kellie McCormack, Director, Planning & Regulations Marnie Piggot, Director, Finance Plezzie Ramirez, Director, Human Resources Jill Ramseyer, Director, Corporate Compliance Barb Veale, Senior Director, Watershed Strategies & Climate Change Mark Vytvytskyy, COO





Chair Gerry Smallegange called the meeting to order at 3:06 p.m.

1. Acceptance of Agenda as distributed

CHBD 02 01 Moved by: Allan Elgar Seconded by: Dave Gittings

THAT the Conservation Halton Board of Directors accepts the agenda as distributed.

Carried

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest for Board of Directors

There were **NONE**.

3. Consent Items

3.1. Roll Call - Induction of Board Members for 2022

Date of Term to expire in February 2023 as per the Conservation Authorities Act.

(4.1) A member shall be appointed for a term of up to four years, as may be determined by the council that appoints the member. 2017, c. 23, Sched. 4, s. 12 (2).0 or until a successor is appointed.

3.2 Conservation Halton Board Advisory Committees Membership 2022 (CHBD 02 22 01)

The consent items were **adopted**.

4. Action Items

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton-Hamilton Region Source Protection Authority.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer assumed the role of the Chair.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer advised that the Elections would be conducted in accordance with Section 10 of the Conservation Authorities Act.

Only current members of the Authority may vote.

- 4.1.1 The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to **appoint Election Scrutineers to count the ballots for the election of Chair and Vice Chair.**
- CHBD 02 02 Moved by: Mike Cluett Seconded by: Allan Elgar





THAT Adriana Birza and Niamh Buckley be **appointed as scrutineers in the event of an election and that all ballots be destroyed by the scrutineers afterwards**.

Carried

4.1.2. The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chair Of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

It was Moved by Gord Krantz that Gerry Smallegange be nominated for the position of Chair to Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

CHBD 02 03 Moved by: Cathy Duddeck Seconded by: Allan Elgar

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

Carried

Gerry Smallegange confirmed he would allow his name to stand and thanked all present.

The CEO declared Gerry Smallegange, by acclamation, to the position of Chair, Conservation Halton Board of Directors 2022.

4.1.3 The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

It was Moved by Gerry Smallegange that Moya Johnson be nominated for the position of Vice Chair for Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no nominations.

The CEO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

CHBD 02 04 Moved by: Cathy Duddeck





Seconded by: Jean Williams

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton Board of Directors for 2022.

Carried

Moya Johnson confirmed she would allow her name to stand and thanked all present.

The CEO declared Moya Johnson by acclamation, to the position of Vice Chair, Conservation Halton Board of Directors 2022.

5. Other Business

There was **NO** other business.

6. Adjournment

CHDB 02 05 Moved by: Marianne Meed Ward

THAT the Inaugural meeting of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors **be adjourned at** 3:15 p.m.

^nrried

Wleen -

Signed:

Hassaan Basit, President & CEO/Secretary-Treasurer

Date: Ma

March 24, 2022