

MEETING NO: # 01 18 Board of Directors Inaugural Meeting

# **MINUTES**

The Inaugural Meeting of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors was held on Thursday, February 22, 2018 beginning at 3:40 p.m. at Conservation Halton's Administration Office, Burlington.

Members Present: Rob Burton

Mike Cluett
Joanne Di Maio
Cathy Duddeck
Rob Duvall
Allan Elgar
Stephen Gilmour
Dave Gittings
Moya Johnson
Gord Krantz
Bryan Lewis

Marianne Meed Ward Gerry Smallegange

Jim Sweetlove John Vice Jean Williams

Absent with Regrets: Sue McFadden

Ed Wells

1. Acceptance of Agenda as distributed.

CHBDI 01 01 Moved by: Dave Gittings

Seconded by: Mike Cluett

THAT the Conservation Halton Board of Directors accept the Agenda as distributed.

Carried

2. **Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest** 

There was no disclosure of pecuniary interest

3. Roll Call & Mileage: 2018 Appointments to Conservation Halton Board of Directors

Date of Term is to expire in **February 2019** or until a successor is appointed.



#### 4. Action Items

### 4.1 Election of Officers for 2018

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors will also be the Chair and Vice Chair of the Halton-Hamilton Region Source Protection Authority.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer assumed the Chair.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer advised that the Elections would be conducted in accordance with Section 10 of the *Conservation Authorities Act*.

Only current members of the Authority may vote.

4.1.1 The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to appoint Election Scrutineers to count the ballots for the election of Chair and Vice Chair.

CHBDI 01 02 Moved by: Rob Burton

Seconded by: Jim Sweetlove

THAT Sheryl Ayers, Senior Director, Corporate & Strategic Initiatives and Barbara Veale, Director, Planning & Regulations be appointed as scrutineers in the event of an election and that all ballots be destroyed by the scrutineers afterwards.

Carried

4.1.2 The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

It was Moved by Cathy Duddeck that Gerry Smallegange be nominated for the position of Chair for 2018.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time.

It was Moved by Gord Krantz that John Vice be nominated for the position of Chair for 2018.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no further nominations.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

CHBDI 01 03 Moved by: Allan Elgar Seconded by: Rob Duvall

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

Carried

Gerry Smallegange confirmed he would allow his name to stand and provided a few remarks.

John Vice confirmed he would allow his name to stand and provided a few remarks.



The first vote was a draw and after the second vote, the CAO/Secretary-Treasurer declared Gerry Smallegange to the position of Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

4.1.3 The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

It was Moved by Gerry Smallegange that Cathy Duddeck be nominated for the position of Vice Chair for 2018.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a second time.

It was Moved by John Vice that Moya Johnson be nominated for the position of Vice Chair for 2018.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for a third time. There were no further nominations.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer called for a motion to close nominations for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

CHBDI 01 04 Moved by: Allan Elgar

Seconded by: Dave Gittings

THAT nominations be closed for the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018

Carried

Cathy Duddeck declined the nomination in favour of Moya Johnson. Moya Johnson thanked Cathy and confirmed that she would allow her name to stand.

The CAO/Secretary-Treasurer declared Moya Johnson, by acclamation, to the position of Vice Chair of Conservation Halton for 2018.

Gerry Smallegange assumed the Chair position for the balance of the meeting.

#### 4.2 Appointment of 2018 Signing Officers

CHBDI 01 05 Moved by: Gord Krantz

Seconded by: Rob Duvall

THAT the Conservation Halton Board of Directors approve the Chair, Vice Chair, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer, Director, Parks & Recreation, Director Finance and Senior Director, Corporate & Strategic Initiatives as the Signing Officers for Conservation Halton;

AND FURTHER THAT any two of the named Signing Officer positions be required for signing bank documents and agreements that bind Conservation Halton.

Carried



## 4.3 Approval of the Borrowing By-law Resolution

CHBDI 01 06 Moved by: Jim Sweetlove

Seconded by: Dave Gittings

Be it resolved that the Conservation Halton Signing Officers are hereby authorized on behalf of Conservation Halton to borrow from time to time, from the banking institution under agreement with Conservation Halton, up to \$2,000,000 to meet current expenditures, until Provincial grants and Municipal funding are received with interest as may be determined by agreement between the bank and Conservation Halton.

Carried

5. Other Business

There was no Other Business

6. **Adjournment** 

CHBDI 01 07 Moved by: Jim Sweetlove

THAT the Conservation Halton Board of Directors **adjourn at 4:00 p.m.**Carried