Media Releases

Conservation Halton holds 60th Inaugural Meeting, Vice and Duddeck acclaimed as Chair and Vice-Chair

Posted by on

Conservation Halton held its 60th Inaugural Board meeting on Thursday, February 25. John Vice was re-elected as Chair of the Board for the sixth consecutive year and Cathy Duddeck was selected as Vice-Chair for the second time.

Vice has been on the Conservation Halton Board for 12 years and was nominated for the position by Gord Krantz. Duddeck has been a board member for five years and was nominated for the position by Rob Burton. Both were acclaimed.

“With a new Strategic Plan in the works, and a renewed spirit of breaking the status quo and propelling the organization forward, I humbly accept the responsibility of Chair and I look forward to working with all of you over the next year. It promises to be transformative,” said John Vice.

Conservation Halton is celebrating sixty years in 2016. The organization’s roots trace back to the Sixteen Mile Creek Conservation Authority being formed on December 20, 1956. The Twelve Mile Creek Conservation Authority was created on June 12, 1958. The two amalgamated on December 31, 1963 to form Halton Region Conservation Authority.

General Manager Hassaan Basit presented highlights of achievements over the past sixty years and mentioned how Conservation Halton’s existence was rooted in a history of acquiring land to protect it in perpetuity, resulting in more than 10,500 acres acquired and more than four million trees planted by CH over the last six decades. He also spoke of a strong desire to help write the next chapter in the organization’s history, through the development of a new strategic plan.

Conservation Halton 2016 Board of Directors
The Conservation Halton Board of Directors is made up of elected officials and citizen representatives appointed by the communities within Conservation Halton’s Watershed – Burlington, Halton Hills, Hamilton, Milton, Mississauga, Oakville and Puslinch.

The chair and vice-chair are elected by members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors for one-year terms at the annual Inaugural Meeting. They must be current members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors and be nominated by their peers.

Regional Municipality of Halton

Mr. Gerry Smallegange
Mr. Jim Sweetlove
Councillor Marianne Meed Ward
Mr. John Vice, Chair

Mayor Gordon Krantz
Councillor Mike Cluett
Councillor Robert Duvall

Halton Hills
Councillor Moya Johnson
Councillor Bryan Lewis

Mayor Rob Burton
Councillor Cathy Duddeck, Vice-Chair
Councillor Allan Elgar
Councillor Dave Gittings

Regional Municipality of Peel / City of Mississauga
Councillor Sue McFadden
Mrs. Jean Williams

City of Hamilton
Ms. Joanne Di Maio
Mr. Ed Wells

Township of Puslinch
Mr. Stephen Gilmour