Media Releases

Conservation Halton holds 2015 Inaugural Meeting, welcomes eight new members

Posted by on

Conservation Halton held its 59th Inaugural Board meeting on Thursday, February 26. John Vice was re-elected as Chair of the Board for the fifth consecutive year and Cathy Duddeck was selected as Vice-Chair for the first time. The meeting also served to welcome eight new members to the 18 member Conservation Halton Board.

Vice has been on the Conservation Halton Board for 11 years and was nominated for the position by Gord Krantz, he was acclaimed. Duddeck has been a board member for four years and was nominated for the position by Jean Williams. She was elected to the position.

“I want to thank my board colleagues for selecting me as Board Chair for Conservation Halton, it’s a unique place to be and an honour to serve. I’ve been on the board for 11 years and there is some really good stuff happening especially in the areas of education and recreation, where Conservation Halton is a leader,” said John Vice. “I would like to thank our outgoing board members for their efforts and contributions. To the new members I say welcome and want to impress upon you how much of an opportunity we have right now with this organziation.”

The chair and vice-chair are elected by members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors for one-year terms at the annual Inaugural Meeting. They must be current members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors and be nominated by their peers.

Conservation Halton 2015 Board of Directors

The Conservation Halton Board of Directors is made up of elected officials and citizen representatives appointed by the communities within Conservation Halton’s Watershed – Burlington, Halton Hills, Hamilton, Milton, Mississauga, Oakville and Puslinch.

There are eight new members of the Board of Directors from the previous term. Jim Sweetlove, Citizen Representative for Burlington, previously served as a Citizen Representative for the City of Hamilton, but was not on the board during the previous term.

Regional Municipality of Halton


  • Mr. Gerry Smallegange
  • Mr. Jim Sweetlove (New)
  • Councillor Marianne Meed Ward (New)
  • Mr. John Vice, Chair


  • Mayor Gordon Krantz
  • Councillor Mike Cluett (New)
  • Councillor Robert Duvall (New)

Halton Hills

  • Councillor Moya Johnson (New)
  • Councillor Bryan Lewis


  • Mayor Rob Burton (New)
  • Councillor Cathy Duddeck, Vice-Chair
  • Councillor Allan Elgar
  • Councillor Dave Gittings (New)

Regional Municipality of Peel / City of Mississauga

  • Councillor Sue McFadden (New)
  • Mrs. Jean Williams

City of Hamilton

  • Mr. Ian Dunlop
  • Mr. Ed Wells

Township of Puslinch

  • Mr. Stephen Gilmour

Prior to the Inaugural Meeting, the final meeting of the 2014 Board of Directors was held. The meeting concluded the term of the following Directors:

  • Keith Bird, Oakville (37 years)
  • Alan Johnston, Oakville (four years)
  • David Kentner, Halton Hills (eight years)
  • Cindy Lunau, Milton (eight years)
  • Rick Malboeuf, Milton (four years)
  • Sandra Morrison, Burlington (four years)
  • Daniela Schulze, Mississauga (two years)
  • John Taylor, Burlington (eight years)

“On behalf of Conservation Halton, I would like to thank all our former board members for their commitment, insight, and service during their time on the board,” said Ken Phillips, Conservation Halton CAO. “In particular we want to acknowledge Keith Bird, who served as Vice-Chair during the last term and was with us for nearly 40 years on both the Conservation Halton Board and the Foundation Board.”