Media Releases

2014 Inaugural Board Meeting sees John Vice return as Chair and Keith Bird as Vice-Chair for fourth straight year

Posted by on

Conservation Halton held its 58th Inaugural Board meeting on Thursday, February 20. John Vice, citizen appointee from the City of Burlington, was acclaimed as Chair of the Board and Keith Bird, Regional and Town Councillor from Oakville, was acclaimed as Vice-Chair. Both will be in their fourth year in these roles.

Mr. Vice has been on the Conservation Halton Board for ten years, while Mr. Bird has been a board member for all but two years since 1974. During those two years, Mr. Bird was on the Conservation Halton Foundation Board.

“I would like to thank my colleagues on the Board for the nomination, and Conservation Halton staff for their efforts over the past year,” said Mr. Vice. “This is a very important year coming up as Conservation Halton will be developing the organization’s strategic plan for the next five years. The plan will set objectives and goals which will provide a roadmap for the Board and Staff.”

The chair and vice-chair are elected by members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors for one-year terms at the annual Inaugural Meeting. They must be current members of the Conservation Halton Board of Directors and be nominated by their peers.

Conservation Halton 2014 Board of Directors
The Conservation Halton Board of Directors is made up of elected officials and citizen representatives from the communities within Conservation Halton’s Watershed – Burlington, Halton Hills, Hamilton, Milton, Mississauga, Oakville and Puslinch.

Regional Municipality of Halton

Ms. Sandra Morrison
Mr. Gerry Smallegange
Councillor John Taylor
Mr. John Vice, Chair

Mayor Gordon Krantz
Councillor Cindy Lunau
Councillor Rick Malboeuf

Halton Hills
Councillor David Kentner
Councillor Bryan Lewis

Councillor Keith Bird, Vice-Chair
Councillor Cathy Duddeck
Councillor Allan Elgar
Councillor Alan Johnston

Regional Municipality of Peel / City of Mississauga
Mrs. Jean Williams
Ms. Daniela Schulze

City of Hamilton
Mr. Ian Dunlop
Mr. Ed Wells

Township of Puslinch
Mr. Stephen Gilmour